NaNoWriMo!

NaNoWriMo!

crest-bda7b7a6e1b57bb9fb8ce9772b8faafbSo, if any of my followers are wondering why I haven’t written any blog posts recently… here’s why.  I took the plunge this year and entered the National Novel Writing Month contest.  50,000 words in 30 days.  That sounded easy when the page was empty, but cranking out over 1600 words a day–that have to make sense–is harder than it sounds.  Plus, with my one superpower known as procrastination, weekend writing is problematic at best.  The upshot is that I have to put about 4000 words in the old text editor by the end of today just to keep up.  I actually managed over 3000 yesterday, so who knows.

For anyone who has ever thought about taking up writing as a vocation, first, see your doctor.  If you still have the itch, this type of contest (no prizes, just recognition) is a great motivator.  It feels like a job, and that’s a good thing.  The other problem for me right now is that I was on the last stages of completing a short story to submit to a workshop, with one currently in the pipeline to be workshopped, and another that just finished.  That last one had so many great comments that I’m ready to use them to do my last round of editing before submitting for publication.

It’s good to be busy again, but…damn.

Stay tuned!

